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What Rights Do I Have If I Need
To Take Time Off From Work To
Care For A Close Family Member?
Under the New Jersey Family Leave Act, certain employees
are entitled to take leave without losing their jobs as long
as the following conditions are met:

Employer - The employer must have at least 50 employees
who have been working for at least 20 weeks during the
current or previous year. When counting the number of
employees, all of the employer’s employees, whether
located in New Jersey or not, are included.

Employee - The employee who wants to take leave must
have worked for that employer for one year and must have
worked at least 1,000 hours, including paid overtime hours,
during the 12 months immediately prior to taking the leave.

Exception - An employer may deny leave to employees
whose base salaries are within the highest 5% of all
employees if their absence would have a substantial
negative effect on the business.  The same is true for the
seven most highly paid employees.  The employer must
provide proper notice to the employee that they fall into
this category.

What Circumstances Entitle Me
To Take Family Leave?
The New Jersey Family Leave Act permits leave to be taken for:

■ The care of a newly born or adopted child, as long as
leave begins within one year of the date the child is
born to or placed with the employee; or

■ The care of a parent, child under 18, spouse, or civil
union partner who has a serious health condition
requiring in-patient care, continuing medical treatment
or medical supervision. The Family Leave Act considers
parents to be: in-laws, step-parents, foster parents,
adoptive parents or others having a parent-child
relationship with an employee.

How Much Leave Am I Entitled To?
Each eligible employee may take up to 12 weeks of
continuous leave during a given 24-month period.

When caring for a family member with a serious health
condition, an employee may take leave that is not
continuous, for example, an intermittent leave or a

reduced work schedule. Sometimes an employer’s approval
is necessary for this type of arrangement if the leave is
taken in connection with the birth or adoption of a child.

What Notice Has To Be Given
To The Employer?
An employer is entitled to require the employee to give 30
days notice for leave related to the birth or adoption of a
child. In the case of relative’s serious health condition, 15
days notice may be required.

If an emergency arises, reasonable notice must still be
given, within the confines of the circumstances.

Can I Take Family Leave If I Am
Also Entitled To Disability Leave?
New Jersey family leave is separate from any leave an
employee may take for his or her own disability.

Is The New Jersey Family Leave Act
Identical To The Federal Family
And Medical Leave Act?
They are similar, but there are some differences. Some of
the differences are:

■ Unlike the New Jersey Family Leave Act, federal law
does allow an employee to use leave time for his or her
own medical condition.

■ While the state law provides for 12 weeks of leave in a
given 24-month period, federal law provides for 12
weeks of eligible leave within a period of 12 months.

■ The New Jersey FLA applies to companies with 50 or
more employees nationwide.  The federal FMLA applies
to all employers with 50 or more employees within 75
miles of each other.

In situations where a leave is provided by both the New
Jersey Family Leave Act and the federal Family and Medical
Leave Act (i.e., family leave), the employee is entitled to only
up to 12 weeks of leave, in a 12 month period to care for a
family member or newly born or adopted child.

 A leave granted due to the employee’s disability is covered
only by the federal FMLA and may be followed by an
additional leave for the care of a family member under the
New Jersey Family Leave Act.
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What Am I Entitled To
When I Return To Work?
The employee is generally entitled to the same position
held before the leave.

Exception: If the original position is no longer available
when the employee returns, the employer must offer an
equivalent position in terms of pay, benefits and status.

Layoff: If a layoff occurred while the employee was on
leave, the employee retains the same rights as if no leave
had been taken.

Can My Employer Require Proof Of
Eligibility As A Condition Of Leave?
The employer is entitled to request verification of the
qualifying condition, such as a doctor’s certification that a
serious health condition exists. In other words, a medical
certification may be required, but an employer cannot
require an employee to certify that he/she is eligible for
family leave.  This is the employer’s responsibility.

What Should I Do Next?
When the parties are unable to resolve a dispute
themselves, the law provides specific relief under the
Family Leave Act.

Administrative remedy:

The Department of Law & Public Safety, through its Division
on Civil Rights, is responsible for enforcing the Family Leave
Act (FLA).  If you believe that you have been denied leave to
which you are entitled under the FLA or treated unfairly
because you have exercised your rights under the FLA,
please visit or phone us at the Division on Civil Rights office
closest to where you live or where the discrimination
occurred. Our addresses and phone numbers are at the end
of this fact sheet, or visit us on the web at
www.NJCivilRights.gov.

A complaint must be filed with the New Jersey Division on
Civil Rights within 180 days of the denial of leave or other
adverse employment action.  An initial evaluation will be
conducted to determine if you state a claim for relief under
the FLA.  If so, the Division will prepare a complaint for you
to sign and then the Division will conduct an investigation
into your allegations. If the investigation shows enough
evidence to support your complaint (known as probable
cause), and your complaint cannot be settled, a hearing will
be held in the Office of Administrative Law.  You may choose
to retain a private attorney to represent you at the hearing,
or a lawyer will be provided to prosecute the case on behalf
of the New Jersey Division on Civil Rights.  At the conclusion
of the hearing, the Director of the Division on Civil Rights will
make a final decision as to whether unlawful denial of leave
or other adverse employment action has been proven and,
if so, what remedies should be awarded to the complainant.
Other than fees for a private attorney, if applicable, there is
no cost to the individual for these services.

Judicial Remedy:

In the alternative, an individual who believes he or she has
been denied leave in violation of the FLA or subjected to

other adverse employment action because he/she has
exercised their rights under the FLA, may file a complaint
and try his or her case in New Jersey Superior Court.
Individuals usually hire an attorney to represent them in a
Superior Court action.  A party cannot file with the Division
on Civil Rights and in Superior Court at the same time.  A
Superior Court action must be filed within two years of the
denial of leave or other adverse employment action.

What Remedies Are Available?

A prevailing complainant may be entitled to the leave time
that was denied.  A complainant may also be entitled to
damages for pain, humiliation, and emotional distress
caused by the employer’s actions; restoration of employee
benefits that the complainant would have received but for
the employer’s actions; out-of-pocket expenses incurred as
a result of the denial of leave; and reasonable attorney’s
fees if the complainant was represented by counsel.

In addition, the Division may impose penalties on the party
who violated the FLA of up to $2,000 for the first violation,
and up to $5,000 for a second or subsequent violation.
These penalties are payable to the State, not the
complainant.  In addition, the Director of the Division on
Civil Rights may award the complainant punitive damages in
an amount up to $10,000.

Remember, it’s against the law for anyone to retaliate
against you because you have exercised your rights under
the New Jersey Family Leave Act.
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The Department of Law & Public Safety, through
its Division on Civil Rights, is responsible for
enforcing the law. To file a complaint, contact or
visit the office nearest you:

Atlantic City Regional Office:
1325 Boardwalk, Tennessee Ave. & Boardwalk
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone: (609) 441-3100 • Fax: (609) 441-3578

Camden Regional Office:
One Port Center, 4th Floor, Suite 402
2 Riverside Drive, Camden, NJ 08103
Phone: (856) 614-2550 • Fax: (856) 614-2568

Newark Regional Office:
31 Clinton Street, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone: (973) 648-2700 • Fax: (973) 648-4405

Trenton Regional Office:
140 East Front Street / P.O. Box 090
Trenton, NJ 08625-0090
Phone: (609) 292-4605 • Fax: (609) 984-3812

Visit our web site at www.NJCivilRights.gov







 
 

JERSEY CITY PAID PARENTAL LEAVE FAQ SHEET 
 

1. Who is eligible for Paid Parental Leave? 

Employees who meet all of the following conditions: 

 Current full-time, non-uniformed employee. 

 One year of full-time service as a City employee and works a minimum of 37.5 hours per 

week. 

 Approved1 for Family Medical Leave (FMLA) and/or New Jersey Leave Act (NJFLA). 

 Approved2 for NJ Family Leave Insurance (FLI). 

 Must not have used Paid Parental Leave on another occasion within a prior 12-month 

period. 

 

2. What am I entitled to while on Paid Parental Leave? 

 You will receive your full weekly wages for a period of 6 weeks. The State will pay you 

your NJFLI payments and the City will pay you the difference between your NJFLI 

payment and your normal weekly wage.  

 

 
 

  

3. Are employees required to utilize their sick/vacation/personal time while on Paid Parental 

Leave? 

 No. Employees who timely file their Paid Parental Leave Application will not have to use 

sick/vacation/personal time while on paid parental leave. 

 

4. Can I take Paid Parental Leave for reasons other than for a newly born child or a newly 

adopted child? 

 No. Paid Parental Leave can only be used to bond with a newborn child or newly adopted 

child. 

 

5. Do I need to take my leave all at once? 

 Yes.  The leave must be taken during one continuous period of time. All leave taken to 

bond with a newborn or newly adopted child, must be taken during the 12-month period 

immediately following the birth or adoption of the child. 

                                                      
1 Approval must be for the care of a newly born child or a newly adopted child. 
2 Approval must be for the care of a newly born child or a newly adopted child. 

NJFLI + City Wage Supplement = Full weekly wages 



*This Fact-Sheet is for informational purposes only* 
The applicable Executive Order and/or City Policy shall control over this Fact-Sheet 

 

 

 

 

6. Are Paid Parental Leave wages taxable? 

 Yes.  Paid Parental Leave benefits are taxable and will be included in federal gross 

income and subject to other standard payroll deductions.  

 

7. Are pension deductions made for period of Paid Parental Leave? 

 No.  Eligible employees may be able to purchase back this time and should contact the 

Pension Division on more information.  

  

8. Must an employee notify the City if he/she intends to claim Paid Parental Leave? 

 Yes. Employees generally must provide the City with a minimum of 30 days’ notice prior 

to commencement of the family leave. 

 

9. Are there any caps on how often I can participate in Paid Parental Leave? 

 Yes. Employees can only use Paid Parental Leave once within a prior 12-month period.  

 

10. Am I entitled to health benefits while on Paid Parental Leave? 

 Yes, as provided for under FMLA/NJFLA and City policy.  

 
11. Do these wages have to be repaid? 

 Employees who do not remain employed with the City for one year after returning from 

parental leave must repay the City Wage Supplement to the City, unless the employee is 

laid off prior to one year after their return to work date.  

 Employees who are not ultimately approved for NJFLI also must repay the City Wage 

Supplement to the City.  

 

12. Where do I go if I have more questions? 

 If you have any additional questions regarding Paid Parental Leave, please contact the 

Human Resources Department at (201) 547-5217. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



Page 1 of 2 
 

 

PAID PARENTAL LEAVE APPLICATION 

Instructions: This application must be submitted to Human Resources after the birth of the baby or the 

placement of the child with his/her adoptive parents. Employee completes Part I of the form and 

forwards to the Human Resources Department (“HR”). HR completes Part II of the form and a copy will 

be placed in the employee’s medical file, in accordance with standard procedures. 

PART I (To be completed by Employee) 

Name:_______________________________________________________________________ 

 

Job Title: ___________________________     Department:_____________________________ 

 

Home Address:________________________________________________________________ 

                              

Phone: Number:_______________________________________________________________ 

 

I hereby give notice of my intent to take paid parental leave. The expected date of the child’s birth or 

placement for adoption is: _________________________. I anticipate taking _______ weeks of paid 

parental leave (cannot exceed six weeks) for: 

 

□ Birth of a Child 

□ Placement for Adoption 

 

I understand that the following conditions apply to this leave: 

 The period of leave runs concurrently with New Jersey Family Leave Act (“NJFLA”) leave and 

New Jersey Family Leave Insurance (“NJFLI”), to the extent that such leave is available to the 

employee and to the extent the employee is found eligible for NJFLI.  All terms and conditions 

stated in the City of Jersey City Paid Parental Leave, incorporated herein, policy also apply to my 

use of this benefit.  

 Employees who do not remain employed with the City for one year after returning from 

parental leave must repay the City Wage Supplement to the City, unless the employee is laid off 

prior to one year after their return to work date.  

 If the employee is not ultimately approved for NJFLI, the amount of the employee’s City Wage 

Supplement will be deducted from his or her next available paycheck.  If the employee’s next 

available paycheck does not cover the full amount of the City Wage Supplement, the City will 

deduct any remaining amounts owed from any subsequent paycheck(s) until the full amount of 

the City Wage Supplement is paid. 
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 If the City terminates an employee or the employee resigns or retires from his or her 

employment prior to one year after returning from parental leave, the amount of the 

employee’s City Wage Supplement will be deducted from his or her final paycheck.  If the 

employee’s final paycheck does not cover the full amount of the City Wage Supplement, he or 

she will be responsible for repaying any remaining sums within six months of his or her last day 

of employment with the City.   

 

 

Employee Signature: ___________________________       Date: ________________________ 

 

PART II (To be completed by Human Resources) 

 

□ Employee meets all eligibility requirements:_____________________________________ 

                                                                                               (Employee’s Date of Hire) 

 

□ Proof of Birth/Placement for Adoption: _________________________________________ 

                                                                 (Specify documentation submitted) 

 

 

Period of Paid Parental Leave:  From_________________    To ________________________ 

 

 

APPLICATION APPROVED: □     NOT APPROVED:  

□ Ineligible (Employee did not meet the   
minimum requirements) 
 

                                                                                       □ Inadequate/Incomplete Documentation 
 
 
 
Signature: ______________________________      Date: ______________________________ 
                      FMLA/ADA Coordinator or Designee 
 



 Care of family member  

  FL-1 (6/19)

1  Last name  First name  Middle

FLFLFL

Internal Code  

2  Home Address (Street, Apt #, City, State, ZIP Code) 

6 County 

3 Mailing Address – if different from home address (Street, Apt #, City, State, ZIP Code) 

10     _______|_______|_______ 11 Date you returned/will return to work  

12  Reason for family leave     Bond with child  

15 Do you want 10% of your benefits withheld for federal income tax?   Yes    No  

 Yes    No  

 Yes  No  
 Yes  No   

a                
b   Pension benefits from your current employer?  
c   Workers' Compensation benefits?      
d        Unemployment Insurance benefits?   Yes  No 

Complete Parts A & B 

YOUR INFORMATION

 If Yes, enter start/application date _______|_______|_______  

If Yes, enter start date _______|_______|_______ Monthly amount $_____________

Leave Information

  _______|_______|_______

Social Security Number

Profile Information

Additional Benefit Information

Certification and Signature

16 During the period of Family Leave covered by this claim, have you received or applied for: 

13  Person you are caring for or bonding with 

Last name __________________________  First _________________________   Relationship_______________________  Phone ( ____) ___________________

Date of Birth  _______|_______|_______  Date of Adoption/Foster Placement (if applicable) _______|_______|_______

7  Phone (____) _______________ 

______|______|______

4  Date of Birth 5  Gender 

Yes     No 

Complete Part D (Partial Leave Schedule) o n Page 3

 mm | dd | yy
______________

Sign Here ___________________________________________________________________________________________    Date ____|_____|_____
medical, employment and Social Security benefit information necessary to determine my eligibility for benefits.

Questions 8 and 9 are for statistical purposes only and do not affect eligibility

8
Caucasian 
African American
Asian

Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander 
American Indian/Alaskan Native

With which racial/ethnic group(s) do you most identify? 9 Check the highest level of schooling you have completed.

Have not graduated high school

High School Graduate/GED

Associates/Bachelor's Degree 

Graduate Degree

17 I certify I was unavailable to work during the period for which I am claiming benefits. I am aware that if I provide any information in this application that I know to be false, or if I knowingly
fail to disclose a material fact, I may be subject to penalties, which may include criminal prosecution. You are hereby authorized to verify my Social Security Number, and obtain any 

14  Are you taking all 42 days of Family Leave benefits in a row?  

1

Complete Parts A, B, & C

FL-1
New Jersey Family Leave Benefits Application

Note: The Division of Family Leave Insurance is not a “covered entity” under the Federal Health Information Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA). All medical records of the Division, 
except to the extent necessary for the proper administration of the Temporary Disability Benefits Law are confidential & are not open to public inspection. The Division protects all records 
that may reveal the identity of the claimant, or the nature or cause of the family leave and the records may only be used in proceedings arising under the law.

                Date your Family Leave began                                                      

Yes     No Latino/Hispanic

PART A

Federal Social Security Disability benefits? 

Bonding claims: If you are the birth mother of the child, you may be eligible for Temporary Disability maternity benefits before collecting Family Leave bonding 
benefits. If you would like to apply for these benefits during your pregnancy and recovery, complete the Temporary Disability Benefits Application (form DS-1).

Division of Temporary Disability & Family Leave Insurance
P.O. Box 387, Trenton, NJ 08625-0387
Fax: 609-984-4138



Name    ________________________________________________________________   
Address  _______________________________________________________________ 
Phone     (____)___________________________________________________________

 Social Security Number 
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Instructions: Starting with your last employer, provide information for all your employers in the 6 months before your leave began. 
If you need to list more employers, make a copy of this page.  Be sure to state the first and last day you physically reported to work. Do not write "present" or "current."

EMPLOYMENT INFORMATIONPART B

 Fri Sat   

3   ______|______|______  to   

13  Have you provided this employer with at least 15 days' notice that you would be taking this leave?           Yes       No

Phone  (____) __________________________________

8   Separation from this employer is 9  Which days do you normally work?
 Sun           Mon        Tue            Wed  Thur 

 mm | dd | yy
 ______|______|_____ 

 mm | dd | yy

 11   Supervisor's Name _____________________________________ 

Temporary Permanent

12

10  Regular Weekly Earnings

$________________________

1   

Company______________________________________________ 

Street______________________________________________________________City____________________State______________ 

14  Did you collect temporary disability benefits under this employer's approved private plan?

If yes, give dates            _____|_____|____               to                   _____|_____|____ 

Yes           No

$____________ per week

15 Have you been paid for any days after your last day of work?

If yes, from  _____|_____|_____ to  _____|_____|_____ 

Yes          No 
This pay represents: 

Total amount paid  $________________ 

6  Occupation _____________________________ 

 4         Full time         
 Part time 

Union   7   Work Location  City ____________________ State _______ 

2 Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) (see instructions)

Paid time off (vacation, sick, personal, etc.)
Difference between regular wages and disability benefits 
Other pay from your employer (explain) _________________________ 
Severance pay With notice In lieu of notice 
Donated Leave

__

 5  YesYe  No

Last physical day of work              Date of hire    

Name of your most recent employer

 Fri Sat   

3   ______|______|______  to   

13  Have you provided this employer with at least 15 days' notice that you would be taking this leave?           Yes       No

Phone  (____) __________________________________

8   Separation from this employer is 9  Which days do you normally work?
 Sun           Mon        Tue            Wed  Thur 

 mm | dd | yy
  ______|______|______ 

mm | dd | yy

 11   Supervisor's Name _____________________________________ 

Temporary Permanent

12

10  Regular Weekly Earnings

$________________________

Street______________________________________________________________City____________________State______________ 

14  Did you collect temporary disability benefits under this employer's approved private plan?

If yes, give dates            _____|_____|____               to                   _____|_____|____ 

Yes           No

$____________ per week

15 Have you been paid for any days after your last day of work?

If yes, from  _____|_____|_____ to  _____|_____|_____ 

Yes          No 
This pay represents: 

Total amount paid  $________________ 

 4         Full time         
 Part time 

Union 6  Occupation _____________________________   7   Work Location  City ____________________ State _______ 

2 Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) (see instructions)

Paid time off (vacation, sick, personal, etc.)
Difference between regular wages and disability benefits 
Other pay from your employer (explain) _________________________ 
Severance pay With notice In lieu of notice 
Donated Leave

__

 5  YeYes  No

Date of hire    

1   Name of other employer 

Company______________________________________________ 

(if applicable)

Last physical day of work before your leave

before your leave



1  Does your patient require full time care?   Yes  No  If no, how many days per week does your patient need care?  ________

3  On what day do you estimate your patient will no longer require care ?   

2  What was the first day that your patient needed care?

3

Week Beginning Date _________________ 
Sun    Mon          Tue         Wed   Thur    Fri  Sat 

If you are not claiming all 42 days in a row, mark your full days of absence on the schedule below. Week Beginning Date should be 
the Sunday of the week you are taking leave.  

PART D

Claimant signature ________________________________________ Date  _________________

4  Diagnosis (condition that requires care) _____________________________________________________ # ICD Code ____________ 

______|______|______ 
 

______|______|______ 

Week Beginning Date _________________ 
Sun    Mon          Tue         Wed   Thur    Fri  Sat 

Week Beginning Date _________________ 
Sun    Mon          Tue         Wed   Thur    Fri  Sat 

Week Beginning Date _________________ 
Sun    Mon          Tue         Wed   Thur    Fri  Sat 

Week Beginning Date _________________ 
Sun    Mon          Tue         Wed   Thur    Fri  Sat 

Week Beginning Date _________________ 
Sun    Mon          Tue         Wed   Thur    Fri  Sat 

  mm | dd | yy

 mm | dd | yy

Name ______________________________________________________________   
Address _____________________________________________________________ 
Phone         (____)_________________________________________________________

 Social Security Number 

3 Authorized representative signing on behalf of care recipient must complete the following: I, ______________________________, 

 Parental right  Power of attorney (attach copy)  Court order (attach copy)  

Representative’s Signature ______________________________________ Date_____________ Phone (____) _______________

1  Care Recipient's Name     Last ____________________________________       First ____________________________________

represent the care recipient in this matter and I am authorized by:                                                                                                

  2   

Care Recipient’s Signature ___________________________________________________________  Date______________________ 
Witness signature if care recipient writes an “X”_____________________________________________________________________________ 
(If care recipient is unable to sign, Item 3 below must be completed. )
Note: The Division of  Family Leave Insurance is not a “covered entity” under the Federal Health Information Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA). All of your medical records, except to the 
extent necessary for the proper administration of the Temporary Disability Benefits Law, are confidential and are not open to public inspection. The Division also protects all records that may 
reveal your identity or the identity of your care provider. 

Care Recipient’s Medical Disclosure Authorization and Confirmation: I authorize my physicians/health care providers to disclose my current personal health information to my care 
provider, identified above, and to the New Jersey Division of Family Leave Insurance.  I make this authorization to support my care provider’s claim for Family Leave Insurance benefits.  I 
understand that I may not revoke my authorization to avoid prosecution or to prevent the Division of Family Leave Insurance from recovering money to which it is legally entitled.  I further 
understand that copies of my signature below are as valid as the original.

SECTION 2 CARE RECIPIENT'S CERTIFICATION: To be completed by the care recipient

print name

5    I certify the above statements describe the patient’s condition, need for care, and the  estimated length of disability:

Print Name __________________________________________ Signature  ___________________________________ Date ___________  

Certificate License No. and State  __________________________________________________________________          Check, if Resident 

Street Address  ____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City ______________________________________________________________ State _________________ ZIP Code ________________ 

Phone (____)__________________________________               Fax (____)________________________________________________

FL-1  (6/19)

No benefits will be approved beyond the date of your signature.

PART C CAREGIVING CLAIMS

                            MEDICAL CERTIFICATE: To be completed by the care recipient's healthcare provider

PARTIAL LEAVE SCHEDULE

SECTION 1  



New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development  •  Division of Family Leave Insurance

FILE ONLINE FOR FASTER CLAIM PROCESSING AT

How to Complete the Claim for Family Leave Benefits
• This application (form FL-1) is for family caregiving or bonding leave. If you wish to claim benefits for your own 

disability or for pregnancy and recovery, complete the application for Temporary Disability Benefits (form DS-1).

• You must complete the first 2 pages of the form (Parts A and B).

• You will need to provide your employer’s Federal Employer Identification Number on Part B. You can get this number 
from either your last year’s W-2 form or your Human Resources office. Your employer is not required to complete 
this form but you can ask them to help you with any questions on Part B.

• Part C must be completed by the care recipient and the doctor only if you are caring for an ill family member.

• Part D must be completed only if you are not claiming all 42 days in a row.

• If your reason for taking leave is related to a domestic violence or sexual violence case in which medical documenta-
tion is not applicable, attach documentation related to the case. For more information see myleavebenefits.nj.gov/
keepingNJsafe.

• You have 30 days from the first day of your leave to file your claim. If your claim form is received more than 30 days 
from the first day of your leave, you must provide a reason why the claim was not filed on time. Benefits may be re-
duced or denied for late applications. 

Remember
• You must complete every question accurately and write legibly.

• Any missing information may cause your claim to be denied.

• Demographic questions have no effect on the approval or denial of your claim.

• Write your name and Social Security number on each page of your claim and on all attachments.

• Exact dates must be given. Do not write “present” or “current.”

• If you need to list more than 2 employers, make a copy of Part B to list additional employment.

• If you return to work while you are claiming Family Leave benefits, report this date immediately to the
Division of Family Leave Insurance to avoid overpayment.

How to Send Us Your Claim Form
There are 2 options for you to submit this form. Choose only one, as sending multiple copies will delay processing. 
If you filed your claim online, do not also submit a paper application.

1. Fax this completed form to 609-984-4138
– OR –

2. Mail this completed form to: Division of Temporary Disability Insurance / P.O. Box 387 / Trenton, NJ 08625-0387

After Submitting Your Claim
• If you are eligible for Family Leave Insurance benefits but do not initially claim the full 42 days, we will send you

a request for continued claim certification (form FL-3). Use this form if you need to claim benefits for additional
periods of leave. Complete and return the form promptly to ensure uninterrupted benefits.

• You can find more information and check your claim status at myLeaveBenefits.nj.gov

• For more help on your claim, call Customer Service: 609-292-7060
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